Computer Press Association

Founded in 1983, the Computer Press Association (CPA) was established to promote excellence in the field of computer journalism. The association was composed of working editors, writers, producers, and freelancers who covered issues related to computers and technology. The CPA was the annual Computer Press Awards, which was the preeminent editorial awards of the computer and technology media. The CPA Awards honored outstanding examples in print, broadcast and electronic media. Awards were given for print publications, such as PC Magazine ; online news media, such as Newsbytes Network News (both were multiple winners); individual columns and features by well-known journalists Such As Steven Levy (author of “Hackers: Heroes of the Computer Revolution “); broadcast awards such as “Best Radio Program”; Best Product Specific Book. CPA President Jeff Yablon (1994-1996), most notably Bruno Blenheim . The Computer Press Association disbanded in 2000.

  • Individuals winning multiple Computer Press Association awards include:
    • John C. Dvorak (8 times)
    • Woody Leonhard (8 times)
    • Deke McClelland (7 times)
    • Brock N. Meeks (4 times)
    • Ed Bott (3 times)
    • Danny Goodman (3 times)
    • Linda Rohrbough (3 times)
    • Mary McFall Axelson (2 times)
    • David D. Busch (2 times)
    • Jonathan Littman (2 times)
    • David Pogue (2 times)
    • Ed Scannell (2 times)
    • Neil J. Salkind (2 times)


  • Computer Language Company (2001-2006). “Definition: Computer Press Association” . PC Magazine . Retrieved 2006-09-19 .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright 2019
Shale theme by Siteturner